Skip to Content

Bill Dymond Memorial Award

The William A. Dymond Scholarship in Trade Policy has acheived its fundraising goal and will be able to award the first entrance scholarship into the trade stream of the Master of Arts program of the Norman Paterson School of International Affairs at Carleton University this September. 

We are especially pleased that we were able to begin offering the scholarship a year sooner than we expected as a result of your generosity and that of the 58 other donors. This is a thoughtful testament to our dear friend Bill and to his contributions to the practice and scholarship of Canadian trade policy.

Thank you again for your generous support. We will continue to update you periodically and will let you know the name and background of the first recipient once it is announced. 

About Bill Dymond

Friends and former colleagues will be saddened to learn that William (Bill) Dymond, Senior Executive Fellow and former director of the Centre for Trade Policy and Law at Carleton University, passed away November 25, 2010, in Ottawa after a short but brave struggle with cancer.

Bill spent thirty-three years in government, in External Affairs, Industry, Trade and Commerce, and Foreign Affairs and International Trade, the Prices and Incomes Commission, and the Trade Negotiations Office. He served abroad in Geneva, Brussels, Washington, and Brasilia. At headquarters, he served as Chief Air Negotiator, Canada’s chief negotiator for the OECD Multilateral Investment Agreement, Director-General of the Policy Planning Secretariat, as well as in various other trade-related assignments. Bill was prominently engaged in the negotiations of both the Canada-United States Free Trade Agreement and the North American Free Trade Agreement.

Bill retired in 2000 and moved to Carleton University as Director of CTPL and, over the last few years, was a Senior Executive Fellow. He also devoted considerable time and energy to analyzing and writing about current trade and other economic issues.

The memorial service was held at St. Bartholomew’s Anglican Church, 125 Mackay Street in New Edinburgh, on Tuesday, November 30, at 11:00 a.m., with the Rev. Laurette Glasgow officiating.

Bill is survived by his wife Patricia, sons Michael (Rebecca) and Christian (Ann), and three grandchildren: Abigail, Sabena, and James.

The William A. Dymond Scholarship in Trade Policy 

On November 24, 2010 we lost our good friend and colleague, Bill Dymond, after a short battle with cancer. In his 33 years in government and ten years at Carleton, Bill proved himself one of Canada’s best practitioners of trade and economic policy, as well as an astute observer and teacher of his craft. From the Canada-US Free Trade Agreement to international air and investment agreements, Bill was at the forefront in implementing the best in Canadian trade and economic policy.

We hope you will invest in the next generation of trade policy professionals by donating to the William A. Dymond Scholarship in Trade Policy. This fund was established by Carleton University in memory of Bill’s ten years of service as first Director and then Senior Executive Fellow of the Centre for Trade Policy and Law (CTPL), and in recognition of his many contributions to the practice of, and scholarship in, Canadian trade policy. 

The goal is an endowment to finance an annual scholarship to attract the best graduate students to focus on trade and economic policy during their studies at The Norman Paterson School of International Affairs (NPSIA) at Carleton.  We have already reached the half-way mark in our fundraising goal.  With your contribution, we will be well on our way to offering the first scholarship to those now thinking of pursuing their graduate work in 2011 at Carleton University. 

 Bill exemplified the qualities and professionalism that need to be encouraged in government, the private sector, and international organizations if Canada is to continue to succeed in the world economy.  We hope you will join us in encouraging the next generation to contribute as Bill did to the practice and understanding of trade policy by contributing to this worthwhile initiative of Carleton University.

Please go to for further information on how to contribute to this Fund.

Derek H. Burney, Senior Distinguished Fellow, NPSIA
Michael Hart, Simon Reisman Chair in Trade Policy, NPSIA
Phil Rourke, Executive Director, CTPL

Or please forward your gift to:

Elizabeth DiSabato
Department of University Advancement, Carleton University
1125 Colonel By Drive, Ottawa, ON, K1S 5B6
Tel: (613) 520-2600 ext 8977
or go to
(receipts will be sent with sincere thanks for your donation)